Library Collections Search Results
Modify Search  |  New Searchrss icon RSS | Saved Results (0)
Search:
'Cantors Judaism Ohio Cleveland Photographs' in subject Rabbis -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. in subject [X]
Conservative Judaism -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. in subject [X]
Results:  2 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1
Format
Photograph CollectionRequires cookie*
1Title:  B'nai Jeshurun Congregation Photographs     
 Creator:  B'nail Jeshurun Congregation 
 Dates:  1860-1992 
 Abstract:  B'nai Jeshurun Congregation, one of the largest Conservative synagogues in the United States, was established in 1866 by Jewish Hungarian immigrants as an Orthodox synagogue in Cleveland, Ohio. In 1884, a vacated synagogue building on Eagle Street in Cleveland housed the congregation. Buildings on Scoville Avenue and East 55th Street were home to the congregation from 1906-1926, when the congregation moved to Mayfield and Lee Roads, Cleveland Heights, Ohio. In 1980 B'nai Jeshurun moved to Fairmount Boulevard, Pepper Pike, Ohio. A gradual shift from the Orthodox to Conservative movement began under the first rabbi, Sigmond Dreschler. Over the years, portions of the congregation broke away over the issue of liberalization of religious practices and formed new congregations, including Oheb Zedek in 1904 and Beth Am in 1933. Rabbi Rudolph M. Rosenthal served the then firmly Conservative congregation from 1933-1976. The collection consists of individual portraits of rabbis, presidents of the synagogue, and cantors. Presidents include Herman Sampliner, Jacob Klein, Samuel Klein, Moses Lichtig, David Beck, N. L. Holstein, Julius Steuer, and Abraham Heimlich. Rabbis include Samuel Schwartz, Jacob Klein, Solomon Goldman, Rudolph M. Rosenthal, and Stanley Schachter. Group portraits of confirmation classes, graduation, and high school classes are part of the collection, as are group portraits and views of social events, worship, youth events, holiday celebrations, and the Sisterhood. 
 Call #:  PG 492 
 Extent:  1.10 linear feet (3 containers) 
 Subjects:  Rosenthal, Rudolph M. (Rudolph Marvin), 1906-1979 -- Photograph collections. | B'nai Jeshurun (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews, Hungarian -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Cleveland Heights -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Pepper Pike -- Photographs. | Conservative Judaism -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Rabbis -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Cantors (Judaism) -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
 
  View Finding Aid  |  View XML  
  
Photograph CollectionRequires cookie*
2Title:  Park Synagogue Photographs     
 Creator:  Park Synagogue 
 Dates:  1900-1990 
 Abstract:  Park Synagogue, one of the largest Conservative Jewish synagogues in the world, was founded in 1869 in Cleveland, Ohio, as Anshe Emeth Congregation by twelve Jewish immigrant families from Poland. In 1904, the congregation engaged its first English speaking rabbi, Samuel Margolies. Anshe Emeth merged with Congregation Beth Tefilo ca. 1916, and a large synagogue was built for the combined congregation on East 105th Street in 1922. That same year, Rabbi Solomon Goldman, a well known scholar, teacher, and activist, was hired. He led the congregation into the ranks of Conservative Judaism. In 1934, the congregation engaged one of its own confirmands, Armond E. Cohen, as rabbi. The synagogue, popularly called the Cleveland Jewish Center, became a focus of Jewish life in the Glenville area, serving the social, intellectual, and recreational needs, as well as the religious, of its members; one of the first synagogues in the United States combining all of these facilities in one structure. Following the eastward movement of Cleveland's Jewish population, property on Mayfield Road in Cleveland Heights, Ohio, was purchased in 1942 from the private Park School. In 1950, Park Synagogue (as the congregation came to be known) dedicated a new building, designed by Eric Mendelsohn. In 1969, Kangesser Hall, a 2,000 seat auditorium, was dedicated. When B'rith Emeth Congregation ceased operations in 1988, their Pepper Pike, Ohio building was purchased by Park Synagogue, becoming their eastern educational facility. Some former members of B'rith Emeth affiliated with Park Synagogue. The collection consists of individual portraits of rabbis, cantors, and congregation and community leaders. Included are portraits of rabbis Samuel Benjamin, Armond Cohen, Harry S. Davidowitz, Solomon Goldman, and Howard Hirsch; cantors L. Danto and Abraham Kantor; and notable congregation and community leaders Myron Guren, Ruth Miller, Samuel Miller, Leonard Ratner, Lillian Ratner, and Henry L. Rocker. Other portraits are of well known Cleveland personalities, including Dorothy Fuldheim, Louis B. Seltzer, Samuel Silbert, and Carl Stokes. Also included are group portraits of the religious school, day camp, nursery school, confirmation classes, and other classes. Social groups such as the Glee Club, Parents League, Sisterhood, youth groups, and Men's Club are well represented. Views include synagogue events, religious observances, social activities, interior and exterior views of the Park Synagogue building, and artwork located at Park Synagogue. 
 Call #:  PG 488 
 Extent:  1.70 linear feet (3 containers and 1 oversize folder) 
 Subjects:  Park Synagogue (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | B'rith Emeth Temple (Pepper Pike, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Anshe Emeth Beth Tefilo Congregation (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Cleveland Jewish Center -- Photograph collections. | Park School (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Conservative Judaism -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogue architecture -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Rabbis -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Cantors (Judaism) -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
 
  View Finding Aid  |  View XML