Format • | Photograph Collection | [X] |
| Photograph Collection | Save | 421 | Title: | Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra Photographs
| | | Creator: | Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra | | | Dates: | 1940-1987 | | | Abstract: | The Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1938, by three musicians, Irving Klein, Alfred Zetzer, and Robert Zupnick. They envisioned the orchestra as a training ground for young musicians seeking orchestral experience towards future professional careers and as an outlet for talented amateur musicians. F. Karl Grossman, professor of music at Western Reserve University, was the first conductor and music director of the group, serving for 25 years. Affiliated with Western Reserve University in its early years, the orchestra performed at various locations. Later conductors included Zoltan Rozsnyai, Jose Serebrier, Robert Marcellus, John Ross, and William Slocum. In 1973, the orchestra first sponsored the Young Person's Concerto Competition, later renamed the Frieda Schumacher Concerto Competition. The orchestra also extended its outreach into the community, playing concerts for specific ethnic groups at the Bohemian National Hall, for the Polish-American Congress and the Lithuanian community, and at annual Martin Luther King Day concerts held at Cuyahoga Community College. Beginning in 1976, the orchestra performed under the name Cleveland Civic Orchestra, changing its name back to the Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra in 1981. Throughout its history, the orchestra performed new works by local composers, including F. Karl Grossman, Leslie Adams, Ernest Miller, Robert Rollin, Daniel Shell, and Peter Ware. It featured soloists such as Josef Gingold, Daniel Majeske, Phil Myers, Eunice Podis, Linda Cerone, Jean Kraft, Richard Weiss, John Mack, Roman Rudnytsky, and many others. The collection consists of individual portraits of conductors, particularly first conductor F. Karl Grossman; and individual and group portraits of soloists, composers, and orchestra personnel, including winners of the annual Frieda Schumacher Concerto Competition. Views include rehearsals and concerts at various venues, particularly during the 1980s. Included are views of concerts at the Sohio Amphitheater of the Cleveland Metroparks Zoo, annual Martin Luther King Day concerts at the metropolitan campus of Cuyahoga Community College, and miscellaneous concerts. | | | Call #: | PG 478 | | | Extent: | 0.20 linear feet (1 container) | | | Subjects: | Grossman, F. Karl -- Photograph collections. | Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra -- Photograph collections. | Frieda Schumacher Concerto Competition -- Photograph collections. | Music -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Music -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Performance -- Photographs. | Concerts -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Orchestra -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Composers -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Musical groups -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 422 | Title: | Supreme Camp of the American Woodmen Photographs
| | | Creator: | Supreme Camp of the American Woodmen | | | Dates: | 1941-1966 | | | Abstract: | The Supreme Camp of the American Woodmen was founded in Denver, Colorado, as a national African American fraternal and mutual benefit association. The organization had chapters, called Tents, across the country. A subsidiary, the American Woodmen Life Insurance Company, provided mutual benefit life insurance to members of the Supreme Camp. The collection consists of individual portraits of Frank Simon, president of the Cleveland, Ohio tent, and other members of the Cleveland tent; and views of business meetings, conferences, ceremonies, parades, and coronations of Kings and Queens of American Woodmen. Also included are images of the American Woodmen District Convention in St. Louis, Missouri, in 1930. | | | Call #: | PG 479 | | | Extent: | 0.20 linear feet (1 container) | | | Subjects: | Simon, Frank. | Supreme Camp of the American Woodmen -- Photograph collections. | African Americans -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African Americans -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Societies, etc. -- Photographs. | African American friendly societies -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Friendly societies -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Insurance, fraternal -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Societies, etc. -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 424 | Title: | St. James African Methodist Episcopal Church, Sadie J. Anderson Missionary Society Photographs
| | | Creator: | St. James African Methodist Episcopal Church | | | Dates: | 1930-1986 | | | Abstract: | The Sadie J. Anderson Missionary Society of St. James African Methodist Episcopal Church performed outreach and social services in the African American community in Cleveland, Ohio. The collection consists of group portraits and views of members and events of the Missionary Society, group portraits of members of the Las Amigas Club, trips made by the Missionary Society, conferences sponsored by the Society, and a reunion of the Las Amigas Club. Individuals pictured include Marjorie Ison Davis, Gertrude Lang, Myrtis Howard, Dr. James Tanner, and Derrick Floyd. | | | Call #: | PG 481 | | | Extent: | 0.20 linear feet (1 container) | | | Subjects: | St. James African Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Society (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | African Methodist Episcopal Church -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photograph collections. | African Americans -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American women -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American women -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Societies and clubs -- Photographs. | African American churches -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Churches -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Women in church work -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Women -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 425 | Title: | Ameritrust Corporation Photographs
| | | Creator: | Ameritrust Corporation | | | Dates: | 1890-1990 | | | Abstract: | Ameritrust Corporation began in 1894 when The Cleveland Trust Company was founded in Cleveland, Ohio. Cleveland Trust then assumed the contracts of the Security Safe Deposit and Trust Company, also located in Cleveland, Ohio. Beginning in 1903, Cleveland Trust acquired or merged with several other savings banks, including The Windemere Savings and Trust Company and The Western Reserve Trust Company. Cleveland Trust promoted innovative operating policies and procedures, including the establishment of an advertising department in 1913. It increased its number of branch offices through additional mergers, including Lake Shore Banking and Trust Company and The Garfield Savings Bank. Growth continued during the 1920s with the acquisition of the Pearl Street Savings and Trust Company. Two more banks were acquired in the 1930s; Midland Bank and South Euclid Bank. A new six story office building at East 9th Street and Huron Road was constructed in 1962. An adjacent office tower was completed in 1971. In 1974, CleveTrust Corporation, a bank holding company, was formed, with Cleveland Trust as the lead bank. Cleveland Trust was one of six local banks holding short-term notes of the City of Cleveland when financial difficulties in 1978 lead to the city's default on these loans. In 1979, The Cleveland Trust Company's name was changed to AmeriTrust Corporation. In 1986, the name was changed to Ameritrust Corporation. In 1991, Ameritrust merged with Society Corporation, and in 1992, went out of existence as a corporate entity. The collection consists of individual portraits of bank officials, directors, and corporate employees and their organizations, and views of banking facilities and marketing campaigns. A large portion of the collection consists of views of bank branches and views of the 1906-1908 construction and later renovation of the Cleveland Trust main office. Photographs of architectural detail images of the rotunda of the main branch by Margaret Bourke-White are included. The 1969-1971 construction of the tower office building addition to the main office located at Euclid Ave. and East 9th St. is also well depicted. Advertising and marketing activities are represented by both images used in and depictions of campaigns, particularly the E. 9th and Euclid outdoor displays. The collection also illustrates changes in banking equipment and facilities during the twentieth century. Also included are portraits of officers and employees of banks acquired by the Cleveland Trust Company. Other photographs of officers, directors, and corporate employees were integral to and retained with biographical materials in MS 4750 Ameritrust Corporation Records. | | | Call #: | PG 482 | | | Extent: | 5.80 linear feet (11 containers) | | | Subjects: | Bourke-White, Margaret, 1904-1971 -- Photograph collections. | Ameritrust Corporation -- Photograph collections. | Cleveland Trust Company -- Photograph collections. | Banks and banking -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Bank holding companies -- Ohio -- Photographs. | Bank mergers -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Savings banks -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Bank buildings -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Bank marketing -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Advertising -- Banks and banking -- Photographs. | Banks and banking -- Public relations -- Photographs. | Branch banks -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Bank employees -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 426 | Title: | Alexander Martin Family Photographs
| | | Creator: | Martin, Alexander Family | | | Dates: | 1862-1980 | | | Abstract: | The Alexander Martin family was a prominent African American family in Cleveland, Ohio. Alexander H. Martin Sr. graduated with a law degree from Western Reserve University in 1897, one of the first African Americans to do so. Martin had a long career as an attorney and was active in Cleveland city politics. His wife, Mary Brown Martin, was a teacher and the first African American to serve on the Cleveland Public School Board. Their son, Alexander H. Martin, Jr. was an attorney and the first African American to run for mayor of Cleveland. Their daughter, Lydia, was a librarian at Western Reserve University. Sarah Martin Pereira, another daughter, was noted for her scholarship and her commitment to education. The collection consists of individual portraits of Alexander H. Martin, Sr., Mary Brown Martin, Alexander H. Martin, Jr., Sarah Martin Pereira, Lydia Jane Martin, and Carol Pereira. Group portraits and views of events important to the Martin family include a Black History Month tribute to the Martin family, the dedication of the Mary B. Martin School, and the wedding of Sarah Martin Pereira. | | | Call #: | PG 483 | | | Extent: | 0.20 linear feet (1 container) | | | Subjects: | Martin, Alexander H., Sr. -- Photograph collections. | Martin, Alexander H., -- Jr. -- Photograph collections. | Martin, Mary Brown, 1877-1939 -- Photograph collections. | Martin, Lydia Jane -- Photograph collections. | Pereira, Sarah Martin -- Photograph collections. | Martin family -- Photograph collections. | African Americans -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American lawyers -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American teachers -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American educators -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American families -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 427 | Title: | Russell and Rowena Jelliffe Photographs
| | | Creator: | Jelliffe, Russell and Rowena | | | Dates: | 1920-1990 | | | Abstract: | Russell W. (1891-1980) and Rowena Woodham Jelliffe (1892-1992) were social workers who in conjunction with the Second Presbyterian Church Men's Club of Cleveland, Ohio, founded the Neighborhood Association, popularly known as the Playhouse Settlement, in 1915. Founded primarily to aid African Americans who had migrated to Cleveland from the rural South, Playhouse Settlement offered the usual social services, but gained note for its dramatic and artistic programs. In 1927 the Jelliffes acquired property which was remodeled as a theater and named the Karamu Theater. In 1941, the Settlement was renamed Karamu House. The Jelliffes shared the directorship of Karamu House until their retirement in 1963, after which they served as trustees of the Karamu Foundation. Russell Jelliffe was also an active member of the Urban League, the Cleveland Community Relations Council on Race Relations, the executive committee of the local branch of the NAACP, and the Board of the Cleveland Council of Human Relations. He was involved with the Group Work Council of the Welfare Federation and was a trustee of Oberlin College and the Cleveland Civil Liberties Union. Rowena Jelliffe was involved in the NAACP, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, the Urban League, the National Theatre Conference, the Board of Trustees of the Cleveland Guidance Center, and the Board of Directors of the American National Theatre and Academy. Both the Jelliffes received numerous honors and awards. The collection consists of individual portraits of Russell and Rowena Jelliffe; individual portraits of those associated with Karamu House, including teachers, instructors, and performers; group portraits that include the Jelliffes and others, including Zelma George, W. C. Handy, Langston Hughes, and Michael White; and views of play productions, instructional classes, and interior and exterior scenes at Karamu House. Also included in the collection are group portraits of the Gilpin Players and Karamu actors in performance. | | | Call #: | PG 484 | | | Extent: | 1.00 linear feet (3 containers) | | | Subjects: | Jelliffe, Russell W., 1891-1980 -- Photograph collections. | Jelliffe, Rowena Woodham, 1892-1992 -- Photograph collections. | Hughes, Langston, 1902-1967 -- Photograph collections. | George, Zelma, 1903- -- Photograph collections. | Handy, W. C. (William Christopher), 1873-1958 -- Photograph collections. | White, Michael R. -- Photograph collections. | Karamu House -- Photograph collections. | Gilpin Players -- Photograph collections. | African Americans -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African Americans in the performing arts -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American theater -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American dramatists -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Theater -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Social settlements -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Social workers -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Women social workers -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 428 | Title: | Tuskegee Airmen, Inc., North Coast Chapter Photographs
| | | Creator: | Tuskegee Airmen, Inc., North Coast Chapter | | | Dates: | 1944 | | | Abstract: | The Tuskegee Airmen, Inc., North Coast Chapter is the Cleveland, Ohio, area chapter of the national organization whose purpose is to educate African American youth about the challenges faced by the Tuskegee Airmen in training to become World War II fighter pilots in the United States Army Air Corps. The Tuskegee Airmen, all African Americans, were graduates of the segregated Tuskegee Army Flying School near Tuskegee, Alabama. Many of the graduates joined four squadrons of the 332nd Fighter Group and served with distinction throughout World War II. The collection consists of individual and group portraits of members of the Tuskegee Airmen, and views of training exercises at Tuskegee, Alabama. Individuals depicted include Robert A. Decatur, Joseph D. Barrucker, and other members of the Tuskegee Airmen, Inc., North Coast Chapter. Other individuals depicted include George Washington Carver, Henry Ford, and Frederick Douglass Patterson. | | | Call #: | PG 485 | | | Extent: | 0.10 linear feet (1 container) | | | Subjects: | Tuskegee Airmen, Inc. North Coast Chapter -- Photograph collections. | United States. Army Air Forces. Fighter Group, 332nd -- Photograph collections. | Tuskegee Airmen, Inc. -- Photograph collections. | World War, 1939-1945 -- African Americans -- Photographs. | World War, 1939-1945 -- Aerial operations -- Photographs. | African Americans -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | African American air pilots -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Tuskegee Army Air Field (Ala.) -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 429 | Title: | Albert M. Brown Photographs
| | | Creator: | Brown, Albert M. | | | Dates: | 1908-1973 | | | Abstract: | Albert M. Brown (1901-1994) was born in Cleveland, Ohio, the son of Russian Jewish immigrants. Brown became involved in social work in the Cleveland Jewish community, working at the Kinsman branch of the Council Educational Alliance from 1923-1929. After working at a New York City settlement house from 1930-1938, he returned to Cleveland and worked at the National Youth Administration and Bellefaire. In 1942, he became director of the Toledo Jewish Community Center. After returning to Cleveland in 1955, he served as executive director of the Community Temple (Beth Am) until 1963, when he was appointed the founding director of Council Gardens in Cleveland Heights, Ohio, a senior adult housing community. During his retirement, he worked part-time as the social director of his own residence, the Concord Apartments in Cleveland Heights. Brown wrote and produced many one-act plays. He was also authored The Camp Wise Story: 1907-1988, published in 1989. The collection consists of individual portraits of Albert M. Brown, group portraits depicting his associates and activities at Camp Wise and the Jewish Community Center, views of Camp Wise, and a view of B. J. Brown Hardware, his father's business. The slides depict Council Gardens in the 1960s and 1970s when Brown served as director there. | | | Call #: | PG 486 | | | Extent: | 0.41 linear feet (1 container and 1 oversize folder) | | | Subjects: | Brown, Albert M., 1901-1994 -- Photograph collections. | Camp Wise (Euclid, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Council Gardens (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Jewish Community Center of Cleveland -- Photograph collections. | B. J. Brown Hardware (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Social workers -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews -- Recreation -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jewish camps -- Ohio -- Euclid -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 430 | Title: | Warrensville Center Synagogue Photographs
| | | Creator: | Warrensville Center Synagogue | | | Dates: | 1914-1989 | | | Abstract: | The Warrensville Center Synagogue, an Orthodox Jewish congregation in Cleveland Heights, Ohio, was established in 1959 as a result of a merger between three smaller synagogues, the Tetiever Ahavath Achim Anshe Sfard Congregation, the Kinsman Jewish Center, and Congregation Nvai Zedek. In 1970, Sherith Jacob Israel, the Eddy Road Jewish Center-Memorial Synagogue joined Warrensville Center. This congregation was itself a merger of Sherith Jacob and Sherith Israel of Mount Pleasant congregations. In 1972, Shaker-Lee Congregation was absorbed by the Warrensville Center Synagogue. Shaker-Lee Congregation was the result of a previous merger of Ohel Jacob, Ohel Yavne, and Tifereth Israel (not to be confused with The Temple-Tifereth Israel, a Reform congregation). The collection consists of individual portraits, group portraits, and views. | | | Call #: | PG 487 | | | Extent: | 0.21 linear feet (1 container and 1 oversize folder) | | | Subjects: | Warrensville Center Synagogue (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Kinsman Jewish Center (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Tetiever Ahavath Achim Anshe Sfard Congregation (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Ohel Yavne Congregation (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Ohel Jacob Congregation (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Orthodox Judaism -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 431 | Title: | Park Synagogue Photographs
| | | Creator: | Park Synagogue | | | Dates: | 1900-1990 | | | Abstract: | Park Synagogue, one of the largest Conservative Jewish synagogues in the world, was founded in 1869 in Cleveland, Ohio, as Anshe Emeth Congregation by twelve Jewish immigrant families from Poland. In 1904, the congregation engaged its first English speaking rabbi, Samuel Margolies. Anshe Emeth merged with Congregation Beth Tefilo ca. 1916, and a large synagogue was built for the combined congregation on East 105th Street in 1922. That same year, Rabbi Solomon Goldman, a well known scholar, teacher, and activist, was hired. He led the congregation into the ranks of Conservative Judaism. In 1934, the congregation engaged one of its own confirmands, Armond E. Cohen, as rabbi. The synagogue, popularly called the Cleveland Jewish Center, became a focus of Jewish life in the Glenville area, serving the social, intellectual, and recreational needs, as well as the religious, of its members; one of the first synagogues in the United States combining all of these facilities in one structure. Following the eastward movement of Cleveland's Jewish population, property on Mayfield Road in Cleveland Heights, Ohio, was purchased in 1942 from the private Park School. In 1950, Park Synagogue (as the congregation came to be known) dedicated a new building, designed by Eric Mendelsohn. In 1969, Kangesser Hall, a 2,000 seat auditorium, was dedicated. When B'rith Emeth Congregation ceased operations in 1988, their Pepper Pike, Ohio building was purchased by Park Synagogue, becoming their eastern educational facility. Some former members of B'rith Emeth affiliated with Park Synagogue. The collection consists of individual portraits of rabbis, cantors, and congregation and community leaders. Included are portraits of rabbis Samuel Benjamin, Armond Cohen, Harry S. Davidowitz, Solomon Goldman, and Howard Hirsch; cantors L. Danto and Abraham Kantor; and notable congregation and community leaders Myron Guren, Ruth Miller, Samuel Miller, Leonard Ratner, Lillian Ratner, and Henry L. Rocker. Other portraits are of well known Cleveland personalities, including Dorothy Fuldheim, Louis B. Seltzer, Samuel Silbert, and Carl Stokes. Also included are group portraits of the religious school, day camp, nursery school, confirmation classes, and other classes. Social groups such as the Glee Club, Parents League, Sisterhood, youth groups, and Men's Club are well represented. Views include synagogue events, religious observances, social activities, interior and exterior views of the Park Synagogue building, and artwork located at Park Synagogue. | | | Call #: | PG 488 | | | Extent: | 1.70 linear feet (3 containers and 1 oversize folder) | | | Subjects: | Park Synagogue (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | B'rith Emeth Temple (Pepper Pike, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Anshe Emeth Beth Tefilo Congregation (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Cleveland Jewish Center -- Photograph collections. | Park School (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Conservative Judaism -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogue architecture -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Rabbis -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Cantors (Judaism) -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 432 | Title: | Bobbie Brooks, Inc. Photographs
| | | Creator: | Bobbie Brooks, Inc. | | | Dates: | 1939-1964 | | | Abstract: | Bobbie Brooks, Inc. was founded in 1939 as Ritmore Sportswear in Cleveland, Ohio. Its founders were Maurice Saltzman and Max Reiter. In 1953, Saltzman bought out Reiter's share of the company. The name was changed to Bobbie Brooks in 1960. The company merged with Pubco Corporation in 1985. The collection consists of group portraits of management and employees, including company president Maurice Saltzman. The lantern slides consist of portraits of Saltzman, employees, and others; and views of plant facilities, advertising, and philanthropic activities. | | | Call #: | PG 489 | | | Extent: | 0.60 linear feet (2 containers) | | | Subjects: | Bobbie Brooks, Inc. -- Photograph collections. | Clothing factories -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Clothing trade -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Industries -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Saltzman, Maurice, 1918-1990 -- Photograph collections. | Women's clothing industry -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 433 | Title: | Anna Wing Family Photographs, Series II
| | | Creator: | Wing, Anna Family | | | Dates: | 1860-1910 | | | Abstract: | Anna Wing (ca. 1837-?), born in Ohio, was married to Cyrus Fernando Wing (d. 1865) in Sandusky County, Ohio, in 1859. Cyrus Fernando Wing died during the American Civil War while serving with the 72nd Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Their daughter, Anna E. Wing Mowry (ca. 1860-?) was married to Richard E. Mowry (1858-1904) of Sandusky County, Ohio. The collection consists of a photograph album containing albumen prints and tintypes and loose photographs of portraits of members of the Wing and Mowry families, as well as unidentified portraits and views. | | | Call #: | PG 490 | | | Extent: | 0.40 linear feet (1 container) | | | Subjects: | Wing, Anna -- Photograph collections. | Wing family -- Photograph collections. | Mowry family -- Photograph collections. | Tintype.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 434 | Title: | Abba Hillel Silver Photographs
| | | Creator: | Silver, Abba Hillel | | | Dates: | 1918-1963 | | | Abstract: | Abba Hillel Silver (1893-1963) was a Rabbi at The Temple-Tifereth Israel, Cleveland, Ohio, and prominent leader of the Zionist movement for a Jewish homeland.
The collection consists of 120 black and white and 34 color photographs, including prints, drawings, slides, and stereo color transparencies. The collection is arranged by image content, then alphabetically by subject, and then chronologically.
Of special note is a 1925 portfolio of the Jewish artist Frantisek Reichental's printed drawings of the Administrative Committee of the Zionist Organization of America, including Silver, Louis Lipsky (1876-1963), Emanuel Neumann (1893-1980), Henrietta Szold (1860-1945), and Stephen Wise (1874-1949). | | | Call #: | PG 491 | | | Extent: | 0.60 linear feet (2 containers) | | | Subjects: | Silver, Abba Hillel, 1893-1963 -- Photograph collections. | Silver, Daniel Jeremy -- Photograph collections. | Silver, Virginia Horkheimer -- Photograph collections. | Lipsky, Louis, 1876-1963 -- Photograph collections. | Neumann, Emanuel, 1893- -- Photograph collections. | Szold, Henrietta, 1860-1945 -- Photograph collections. | Wise, Stephen Samuel, 1874-1949 -- Photograph collections. | American Zionist Emergency Council -- Photograph collections. | Zionist Organization of America -- Photograph collections. | United Jewish Appeal -- Photograph collections. | Temple-Tifereth Israel (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Rabbis -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 435 | Title: | Mount Sinai Hospital Photographs
| | | Creator: | Mount Sinai Hospital | | | Dates: | 1935-2000 | | | Abstract: | Mount Sinai Hospital had its origins in the Young Ladies Hebrew Association for the Care of the Needy Sick, created in 1892 by nine young women in Cleveland, Ohio. In 1900, they changed their name to the Jewish Women's Hospital Association. A 29-bed facility, named Mount Sinai Hospital, opened in 1903 at 2373 E. 37th St. In 1916, a new, larger facility was opened at E. 105th St. and Ansel Rd. Innovations included outpatient clinics for pediatrics and mental hygiene, established in 1915. A nursing school was included. Mount Sinai affiliated with Western Reserve University for the training and education of its nurses in 1930, and its doctors in 1947. Medical research was given a high priority. The Women's and Junior Women's auxiliaries provided important assistance to the medical staff and patients, including a nursery school for children of nurses and volunteers. Mount Sinai served as a major medical resource for Cleveland's east side throughout its history. Expansion included a twelve-story building and a kidney dialysis center (1960), a new laboratory facility (1970), and an outpatient clinic in the Cleveland suburb of Beachwood (1972). A new medical wing was added to the hospital in the 1980s, and in 1993 an integrated medical campus was opened at the Beachwood facility. In 1996, the nonprofit hospital was sold to a for-profit company, Primary Health Systems (PHS). In March 1999, PHS filed for bankruptcy, and in February 2000, Mount Sinai Hospital closed. The collection consists of more than 10,000 black and white and color images depicting the operations of a major hospital in Cleveland, Ohio, in the twentieth century. | | | Call #: | PG 4919 | | | Extent: | 3.75 linear feet (6 containers and 1 oversize folder) | | | Subjects: | Hospitals -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs | Medical personnel -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs | Mount Sinai Hospital (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photographic collections | Nurses -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs | Nursing schools -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs | Physicians -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs | Volunteer workers in hospitals -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs | Social Services/Charities
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 436 | Title: | B'nai Jeshurun Congregation Photographs
| | | Creator: | B'nail Jeshurun Congregation | | | Dates: | 1860-1992 | | | Abstract: | B'nai Jeshurun Congregation, one of the largest Conservative synagogues in the United States, was established in 1866 by Jewish Hungarian immigrants as an Orthodox synagogue in Cleveland, Ohio. In 1884, a vacated synagogue building on Eagle Street in Cleveland housed the congregation. Buildings on Scoville Avenue and East 55th Street were home to the congregation from 1906-1926, when the congregation moved to Mayfield and Lee Roads, Cleveland Heights, Ohio. In 1980 B'nai Jeshurun moved to Fairmount Boulevard, Pepper Pike, Ohio. A gradual shift from the Orthodox to Conservative movement began under the first rabbi, Sigmond Dreschler. Over the years, portions of the congregation broke away over the issue of liberalization of religious practices and formed new congregations, including Oheb Zedek in 1904 and Beth Am in 1933. Rabbi Rudolph M. Rosenthal served the then firmly Conservative congregation from 1933-1976. The collection consists of individual portraits of rabbis, presidents of the synagogue, and cantors. Presidents include Herman Sampliner, Jacob Klein, Samuel Klein, Moses Lichtig, David Beck, N. L. Holstein, Julius Steuer, and Abraham Heimlich. Rabbis include Samuel Schwartz, Jacob Klein, Solomon Goldman, Rudolph M. Rosenthal, and Stanley Schachter. Group portraits of confirmation classes, graduation, and high school classes are part of the collection, as are group portraits and views of social events, worship, youth events, holiday celebrations, and the Sisterhood. | | | Call #: | PG 492 | | | Extent: | 1.10 linear feet (3 containers) | | | Subjects: | Rosenthal, Rudolph M. (Rudolph Marvin), 1906-1979 -- Photograph collections. | B'nai Jeshurun (Cleveland Heights, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews, Hungarian -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Cleveland Heights -- Photographs. | Synagogues -- Ohio -- Pepper Pike -- Photographs. | Conservative Judaism -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Rabbis -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Cantors (Judaism) -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 437 | Title: | Cleveland Bureau of Jewish Education Photographs
| | | Creator: | Cleveland Bureau of Jewish Education | | | Dates: | 1926-1980 | | | Abstract: | The Bureau of Jewish Education (Cleveland, Ohio), organized in 1924, is the coordinating agency for the following Jewish educational institutions in the greater Cleveland, Ohio area: Cleveland Hebrew Schools, Hebrew Academy, United Jewish Religious Schools, Institute of Jewish Studies, Workmen's Circle School, and Yeshivath Adath Bعnai Israel. The collection consists of portraits of Bureau administrators and presidents, group photographs of graduation classes, annual meetings and conferences, and photographs of the Bureau's Camp Galil in Butler, Pennsylvania. | | | Call #: | PG 493 | | | Extent: | 0.40 linear feet (1 container) | | | Subjects: | Cleveland Bureau of Jewish Education (Cleveland, Ohio) -- Photograph collections. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews -- Education -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jewish religious education -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jewish religious schools -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jewish day schools -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Private schools -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jewish camps -- Pennsylvania -- Butler -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
Photograph Collection | Save | 440 | Title: | Cleveland Hebrew Schools Photographs
| | | Creator: | Cleveland Hebrew Schools | | | Dates: | 1912-1976 | | | Abstract: | The Cleveland Hebrew Schools evolved from the Montefiore Free Hebrew School (later called the Talmud Torah) established in Cleveland, Ohio, ca. 1885. In 1905, another communal Hebrew school was founded by Joshua Flock and Aaron Garber. In 1907, the two schools combined, the name remaining the Talmud Torah. In 1913, the Talmud Torah received an Ohio charter and changed its name to the Cleveland Hebrew School and Institute, enrolling students in grades one through eight. Abraham Hayyim Friedland, an internationally known educator, headed the school from 1921-1939. In 1926, a high school was added, and a Parent Council was organized in 1930. Bernard Levitin served as superintendent from 1944-1970, a period of movement of Cleveland's Jewish population to the suburbs. A reorganization of the Cleveland Hebrew Schools took place during this period, with some Cleveland branches closing and new suburban schools opening. As the number of Jewish day schools and congregational classes grew, the Cleveland Hebrew Schools enrollment dropped and branches were further consolidated. In 1955, the Parent Council organized Camp Oneg, a Hebrew summer day camp, and Ganon Gil Nursery, a Hebrew school for preschool children. In 1967 Cleveland Hebrew High School merged into Akiva High School. The collection consists of individual portraits of some of the organization's leaders, such as A. H. Friedland, Bernard Levitin, and Rabbi Samuel Margolies. Group portraits and views include the Judea Ladies Auxiliary, student groups, Camp Oneg, Ganon Gil Nursery School, graduation classes, various Cleveland Hebrew School locations, and other school events and clubs. | | | Call #: | PG 495 | | | Extent: | 0.51 linear feet (2 containers and 1 oversize folder) | | | Subjects: | Cleveland Hebrew Schools -- Photograph collections. | Jews -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jews -- Education -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jewish educators -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Schools -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jewish religious education -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs. | Jewish religious schools -- Ohio -- Cleveland -- Photographs.
| | | |
View Finding Aid
|
View XML
| | | | | |
|